Food: Today’s lunch

Had some broccoli that had past it’s best at the back of the fridge, so last night I decided to make a broccoli pesto.

I steamed the leftover broccoli (I used  roughly quarter of a head) until tender, then strained and placed into a bowl for blending. Then I ripped up 10g of basil, stems and all, and joined it with the broccoli. Whilst the broccoli is cooking  smash up 60g of cashew nuts in the pestle and mortar so it would be easier to blend them. Place them all in the bowl and pour in 2 tbs of good quality extra virgin olive oil, 20g of shredded parmesan cheese, the juice of half a lemon and a sprinkling of salt and pepper then blend them down until a smooth creamy mixture. It should keep in the fridge, in a jar for 4-6 days, more if topped with oil.

On to lunch. Today, I fancied something Italian and light for lunch, so with the fresh pesto in hand, I made Broccoli and basil pesto spaghetti. Cook the spaghetti as normal (I use Nigella’s rather poetic tip of making the water as salty as the Med!). Once drained, tip a spoonful of the pesto back into the pan and a squeeze of lemon juice to loosen it up and give it piquancy. Mix then serve, topped with shavings of salty Parmesan and couple of fresh basil leaves. It’s divine!

I served it today with some refreshing lemon water in my Iittala Sarjaton glasses.

Leave a Reply

